Posted by: aquaplusflora | January 25, 2012

Sewing Lessons

My multi-talented friend Sharron has been helping me retrieve my long buried dressmaking and machine sewing skills – here she is “showing me how” on her machine

Unlike me where I have to work on the dining room table, she has a wonderful room with all her equipment set up readily at hand, a great work table and lots of storage

Of course Milly had to be involved

and there was lots of note taking, tea and coffee drinking

new toys to play with – I now know how to make bias binding

and I have ended up with the confidence to get my own machine out again plus a new top that is now waiting to be eco dyed

Responses

  1. Wow Jo I am just so impressed! There’ll be no stopping you now once you have it out on the table! Milly looks such a sweetheart and so similar in appearance to Jack!
    So have you made a new top on the sewing machine? Boy I think it really time to skype???
    Sending you love and hugs,
    Suzy

    • Thanks Suzy – with Sharron’s help – it ended up being a joint effort.
      lots of love jo xx

  2. Oh what fun. Please remember me to Sharron – I recall her telling wonderful tales of her well-spent “youth” (I use inverted commas as it ain’t over yet) while organizing amazing morning teas for us during the workshop at that fabulous old house in Nelson xo indi

    • Shall do – we are having an eco colour day at her house on Saturday which should be fun – keeping fingers crossed that it doesn’t rain! jxx

  3. You mean, some people really work like this? Well, blow me away! How dreamily tidy!

    • yes and I wish I had my own room so I could be one of them – there are competing piles on the dining room table at the moment – tax (last years of course) and pieces being prepared for Changing Threads exhib. I live in hope!!!

  4. must be the season for it – I’m humming away on my machine too, but would dearly love someone to re-introduce me to my overlocker….it sits in the cupboard …….waiting, waiting, waiting…………..love to you and Sharron

    • I know what you mean – I have mine set up for rolled hems and now have to figure out how to rethread it back again – yikes


Leave a Reply

Categories

